Richard Armitage, Strike Back, Sky

3 Jun

Richard Armitage

Well, you just don’t know with actors. Sometimes, you have can a terrific interview; sometimes completely teeth pulling. Younger actors can be the most difficult. Richard Armitage, however, is a thoughtful, intelligent, sensitive actor who has delivered another cracking performance, this time in Sky’s impressive new drama, Strike Back. He plays John Porter, a wronged Army operative who takes his revenge the Chris Ryan-way, the author of the original book.

Ironically, I interviewed Armitage in his dressing room on the set of his other hit drama, Spooks, in which he plays Lucas. Indeed, he was wearing his “costume” for his role and he was quite relaxed, despite just walking off “The Grid”. He would later take me around the set, which, like all sets, is much more uninspiring than you hope. Armitage, a gentleman, didn’t disappoint in the chat.
Postscript: I have now done a further interview with Richard for the next series of Spooks. I shall post audio closer to tramission in September 2010.

Richard Armitage interview

Bookmark and Share

12 Responses to “Richard Armitage, Strike Back, Sky”

  1. Ann Marie Vickery 06/06/2010 at 4:08 am #

    I Just wanted to write and let you know how much I have enjoyed your interviews with Richard Armitage. As a U.S. fan of his I am thrilled to be able to hear his thoughts on his characters and motivation. You have a casual, engaging interview style which seems to put your guests, like Mr. Armitage, at ease resulting in an interesting, fun interview.

    Thank you and keep up the great work!

    • tranquility 30/06/2010 at 12:47 am #

      same here, I’m a new fan from the US, and we really did not get his latest tv series until it hits dvd, which is long after it first aired.
      love hearing his opinions on the interview, and personally I think hes as good if not better than alot of the film or tv star here in america. I could totally see him as a leading man in a hollywood movie, although I like the british stuff better.
      seems like the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence.
      I personally like the british series better cos even though theres only 6-10 episodes in a season, its a 6-10 well written good stories, not like 24 dragging episodes to fill in the order when a series is picked up.

  2. Traxy 06/06/2010 at 8:23 pm #

    Thank you so much for making this interview available in audio! :)

  3. fitzg 08/06/2010 at 1:59 pm #

    Thank you for the audio interview. Just read the full interview, too.

    N&S should never be forgotten. A rather younger actor played a flawless role with some older, and wonderful actors. Still short of “middle-age”, he is always up-to- (and past the?) the mark.

  4. Margaret 15/06/2010 at 3:41 pm #

    It’s fantastic to hear a “raw” audio interview and then read the print story. I always love reading about and hearing about Richard Armitage. Do you think he’ll ever be the lead in a film? He is definitely big screen material!

    • davidastephenson 15/06/2010 at 6:23 pm #

      Hi Margaret
      So pleased you enjoyed the “raw” interview. There is certainly a difference with what eventually ends up in print, not least because of the editing process after I write it. The copy can still go through at least three editors!
      Richard definitely has the makings of a big screen actor but I can’t see him doing the usual pap from Hollywood. I think too he’s very keen for a role behind the camera and to get out of acting. Going to be interesting to see how he develops. cheers

  5. Carol Moore 19/06/2010 at 10:18 pm #

    Great to hear all of this interview in such a relaxed atmosphere. Just for the record I’m femle, I’m 49, some might class this as middle aged, but I don’t feel like that and I don’t listen to Radio 4!

  6. bZirk 28/06/2010 at 4:23 am #

    I echo the others with my thanks and I like your casual style of interviewing.

    As for Richard, I love watching him on screen but can’t wait to see what he’s got when he goes behind the camera!

    I also wanted to thank you for starting a blog; otherwise, I might not have easily accessed your interview with Terry Pratchett. Loved it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Richard Armitage, Strike Back, Sky « Davidastephenson's Blog -- Topsy.com - 04/06/2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by david stephenson, david stephenson. david stephenson said: #RichardArmitage My full interview for #Sky's Strike Back, plus behind-the-camera plans, and Spooks film?! http://wp.me/pWK0b-8 […]

  2. RichardArmitageNet News » Blog Archive » Full Sunday Express audio interview - 04/06/2010

    […] has written an introduction on his blog with a link to the audio file of the interview […]

  3. 3rd June, 2010 | Richard Armitage Central - 16/09/2012

    […] Stephenson‘s (Sunday Express) blog entry has some very nice things to say about Richard. You can  find the […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

